Shut Up and Watch the Fight

  Exodus 14:14

Exodus 14:14

 

I have a problem with being quiet.  For all who know me personally, that comes as no surprise, I’m sure.  When I was younger my elementary report cards always noted “talks too much” or “talks abundantly” or “loves to talk.”  I like to talk.  Conversations are learning experiences.   I learn something new or affirm something with every conversation I have.  Plus, I like to say stuff.  When I have something to say (which is almost always), I want people to hear it.  Why wouldn’t I? 

However, it does come to my attention that some things are really better left unsaid.  Sometimes I just need to bite my tongue and refrain from saying what thought comes through my mind.  I do know that sometimes I am just to be silent. 

Exodus 14:14 has been making its home inside my thoughts lately. 
It says:  “The Lord will fight for you; you must be quiet.”

Oh what sweet words to hear!  I don’t need to waste another breath on problems or people who seem to only bear down on the weight of my soul, smothering me in stress and choking the joy and life right out of my day.   All I need to do is be quiet, for the Lord will fight for me. 

I may have picked the fight, but Jesus is going to win it for me.  What a delightful truth!

I don’t know if you are like me and find it hard to simply shush up.  I don’t know if you have a long courtship going on with words like I do.  I don’t know your struggles.  But I do know one thing:  The Lord will fight for you, and He never fails

Just take a minute to close your mouth, open your eyes and ears, and listen to God.  Watch Him fight for you.  Watch Him conquer your problems for you.  He will

Leave a Reply

